Coverart for item
The Resource And I Darken, Kiersten White

And I Darken, Kiersten White

Label
And I Darken
Title
And I Darken
Statement of responsibility
Kiersten White
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
The New York Times Bestseller! "Absolutely riveting." ? Alexandra Bracken , #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won't want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series. NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend?and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion. But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against?and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point. From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken. "A dark and twisty fantasy . . . think Game of Thrones, but with teens."? Seventeen "Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist."? Buzzfeed "Will completely spin you into another time and place."? Bustle "Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction."?NPR.org
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
White, Kiersten
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Overdrive Inc
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Romance
  • Historical Fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction
  • Young Adult Literature
Target audience
adolescent
Label
And I Darken, Kiersten White
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522334
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
2ec67d93-7cbe-4e6b-96c0-0ce9f0e53be5
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
Label
And I Darken, Kiersten White
Link
Publication
Dimensions
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780553522334
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
2ec67d93-7cbe-4e6b-96c0-0ce9f0e53be5
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
System details
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read

Library Locations

    • Des Plaines Public LibraryBorrow it
      1501 Ellinwood Street, Des Plaines, IL, 60016, US
      42.041061 -87.886650